Party time!

Whelp, somehow it happened. I managed to get another year older. I have no idea how a year has gone by. This is just ludicrous, ludicrous I tell ya!

As much as I didn’t want to have or deal with my birthday this year, I ended up having an absolutely fabulous one! Thanks to all my family and friends 🙂

We took a long weekend and headed down the shore last Thursday – wahoo! I officially started training last week so I had an 8 mile long run on the calendar. I woke up early on Friday to get it in – but it was SUCH a scorcher, oh my gosh. It was so hot that I started getting chills by the end. I had to take a few walking breaks because it was just a bit too much. I didn’t feel great afterwards because it took a lot out of me and I felt a bit defeated that my first long run was just meh. But it was the longest run I’d done since the half in May so that made me feel somewhat accomplished.

After my run I had some pancakes and took a quick shower, then it was time for the beach!!

Saturday turned out to be cloudy all day 😦 which obvi made me not a happy camper. I went for a 4 mile recovery run and thankfully it was a LOT cooler than Saturday and I felt pretty good. Since it wasn’t a beach day we went out for a little bit to this fun outdoor bar!

IMG_3888

There was a surprisingly good number of people on the beach for a cloudy day! We hung out for a little, had some cheese fries (obvs) and listened to a pretty cool live band.

Back home to cook some dinner! Lobsters and crab legs. Look at the size of these things – they were as big as me!

IMG_3897

Great seafood feast for my birthday dinner! (and some land animals for those averse to sea creatures!)

IMG_3895

Family selfie!

IMG_3896

Rest of the night was spent playing games and watching Olympic trials!

Sunday, Alexis came and spent the day with us on the beach!! And she brought the good weather with her, thank goodness!

IMG_3899

Kevin isn’t as good a beach bum as we are, so we played some cards to entertain him.

IMG_3898

And then, since we don’t like to act our age, we played with our food – doesn’t this look like Texas?!

IMG_3901

Kevin’s family went home Sunday morning, so after the beach Kevin and I ordered some food for dinner and watched the Gymnastics Olympic Trials – they’re my fave! I love the Olympics so much!!

Monday (my actual birthday) turned out to be a beautiful day as well! So Kevin and I went to soak up those rays 🙂

IMG_3905

Doesn’t get much better than that! It should be a rule that I have to spend my birthday on the beach every year!

Later in the afternoon we headed home because my family was coming to see me!! We went out for a super delicious dinner at one of my favorite places.

White sangria for the win!

IMG_3906

And I love these ahi tuna tacos so much! I get the same thing every single time, this is like the only place I allow myself to do such a thing!

IMG_3908

Such a good dinner. And we sat outside because it was so nice. Perfect evening spent with my favorite people 🙂

I love my fam so much and I’m so glad that I got to spend my birthday with them!!!

IMG_3922

After dinner we went home and opened presents and had cake – that my sister made for me! Homemade funfetti because I love funfetti! And my mom still knows how to make my birthdays special even after all these years. You guys are the best!

Tuesday I went out for birthday drinks with my friend/old work bestie. And Wednesday I had dinner with my friend Rachael, who’s birthday is next week! We had a really amazing meal and it was national french fry day so obvi we got a heaping plate full!

IMG_3929

Now those are perfection!

I’d say I’ve had a pretty awesome birthday week. And tonight Kevin is taking me out to dinner at this restaurant that has the best thing I’ve ever eaten. Ever. You’ll just have to wait and find out what it is. What a cliffhanger!

Have a great weekend everyone 🙂

Leave a Reply

