Happy Father’s Day

Happy Father’s Day to all the amazing dads out there! Without you guys there’d be a heck of a lot of leaky sinks, running toilets, dark rooms, broken toys and cars that need a fixin’. To my dad in particular, thanks for all your love and support over the years! Thanks for taking me to all my 5am crew practices, for watching me leap, flip and turn for 15 years, and for entertaining my overactive imagination – and for never telling me I couldn’t do what I put my mind to!

You’ve been there for me since day 1!

IMG_3780

And even though you never did master the art of hairstyling (tho I wasn’t so great at it either!), you made up for it by helping me with my homework (maybe doing it all!), hours of playing games (and letting me win) and always giving in when I ask for a favor (and for still doing it to this day)!

IMG_3781

Friday night we drove down to my parents house to spend the night. We ordered pizza from one of our two favorite places – they ended up giving us the wrong order (!!!) – but it was still delicious enough.

After a quick run to Dairy Queen we spent the evening playing Code Names. Everyone was so against it at first but by the end they loved the game. This is why I never understand why people don’t just listen to me from the start! We could avoid a lot of grumblings.

IMG_3777

After several intense rounds, I think the guys came away with the V.

Saturday morning we woke up bright and early. We had to drop our car off to get some work done. Then we headed to the beach for the day! My sister always complains she doesn’t go to the beach – after 5 mins of being there she goes “I’m bored!” Who can ever be bored at the beach!?!

Then it was back to pick up my car and then home for dinner with the fam. After some good home grillin’ it was cake time! Because every holiday needs a cake!

IMG_3779

My mom also got me a key lime pie (my favorite!!!) to take home and I completely forgot to take it 😦 – we were just about home when I realized it and this pie is so good that I contemplated going back for it (not really, but maybe kind of really!).

Sunday we woke up and went for a quick 4 mile run and did some strength. Then we headed over to Kevin’s fam to celebrate Father’s Day. We had a super yummy brunch , chatted a bit and watched James Corden’s carpool karaoke – the Tony Awards special edition one. Successful day! (here you go in case you haven’t seen it!)

 

The rest of the afternoon I’ve been trying to plan our vacation (somewhere in Asia, if anyone has any suggestions, they’re welcomed!) watched some more Bloodline (ohemgee!!!), watched some golf and had my Sunday ice cream cone!

It was a great weekend but it went by so fast and I’m supes tired. I’ve got a busy week coming up, but all fun things. And in just 2 weeks I begin my Chicago marathon training! Eek, can’t believe it’s here already!

Have a great week everyone 🙂

2 responses to “Happy Father’s Day”

  1. bubblyrunner says :

    OMG I can’t handle those pics, they are too cute! That sucks you forgot the key lime pie 😦 You should probably go back today and get it. Or just buy another whole pie!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lauren says :

      Hehe thank you!!! And lol it was devastating!! If it weren’t an hour away I’d have gone back!! It’s from Wegman’s – do you have one of those? And it’s just the best, I don’t know if others can compare! Really I need to learn how to make my own!

      Like

Leave a Reply

